Home > 3.5 Stars, Book Review, Fiction, Romance, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult > 100th Book! Torment by Lauren Kate

100th Book! Torment by Lauren Kate

I made it!  I read 100 books this year!  Actually, 101.  (I finished another one today.)

My 100th book was Torment by Lauren Kate, the sequel to Fallen.  I actually liked it a lot.  It was kind of strange, because I didn’t like the first one all that much.  Fallen was just okay for me.

Anyway, here’s the blurb for Torment from the author’s web site:

Lucinda is sure that she and Daniel are meant to be together forever. Now they are forced apart in a desperate bid to save Luce from the Outcasts–immortals who want her dead. As she discovers more about her past lives, Luce starts to suspect that Daniel is hiding something. What if he has lied to her about their shared past? What if Luce is really meant to be with someone else?

I’ve always been really intrigued by the idea of (and mythology of) angels.  I’m just really fascinated by them, and images of them make me really happy.  I think that’s (a small) part of the reason why I like The Mortal Instruments.

I also think that because I like TMI so much, I had a hard time liking Fallen.  But Torment solidified and separated the story for me a little better, and in general, I got to know and like the characters more.

However lame this sounds, Torment was good.  I can’t wait to see what comes next!

Three and a half stars for being good, but not great.  Although I have a feeling the next book, Passion, will be great!

  1. October 27, 2010 at 11:24 am

    Congrats on reading your 100th book. I’m not sure I’ll make it, but I’m trying. I happened to love both Fallen and Torment though I did think Torment was better because Luce grew a spine and started standing up for herself. I can’t wait for the next one!

    Heather

  2. November 3, 2010 at 6:24 pm

    I forgot to tell you congrats on reaching your goal of 100 books this year. I aspire to be like you one day. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

