Home > 5 Stars, Book Review, Fantasy, Favorites, Fiction, Historical, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult > Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

Last week, Cassandra Clare came to my local library to do a signing as part of her book tour.

The Mortal Instruments (MI) series is at the top of my favorites list, so I had been waiting for this new book, Clockwork Angel.

Clockwork Angel is the first book in a new prequel Shadowhunter series called The Infernal Devices.  It takes place in 1878 in Victorian London, which is (obviously) such a contrast from modern New York City, where MI takes place.

Here’s the synopsis:

Magic is dangerous–but love is more dangerous still.

When sixteen-year-old Tessa Gray crosses the ocean to find her brother, her destination is England, the time is the reign of Queen Victoria, and something terrifying is waiting for her in London’s Downworld, where vampires, warlocks and other supernatural folk stalk the gaslit streets. Only the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons, keep order amidst the chaos.

Kidnapped by the mysterious Dark Sisters, members of a secret organization called The Pandemonium Club, Tessa soon learns that she herself is a Downworlder with a rare ability: the power to transform, at will, into another person. What’s more, the Magister, the shadowy figure who runs the Club, will stop at nothing to claim Tessa’s power for his own.

Friendless and hunted, Tessa takes refuge with the Shadowhunters of the London Institute, who swear to find her brother if she will use her power to help them. She soon finds herself fascinated by–and torn between–two best friends: James, whose fragile beauty hides a deadly secret, and blue-eyed Will, whose caustic wit and volatile moods keep everyone in his life at arm’s length…everyone, that is, but Tessa. As their search draws them deep into the heart of an arcane plot that threatens to destroy the Shadowhunters, Tessa realizes that she may need to choose between saving her brother and helping her new friends save the world…and that love may be the most dangerous magic of all.

(By the way, you can read the first 100 pages here.)

Like I mentioned, I have been waiting for this book for a long time, and when I was in line with it, waiting to get it signed, I had this brief moment of panic when I thought, “What if it’s bad?  What if I don’t like it?”

I don’t know how I could have ever thought that.

I loved this book.  Loved it.  And it quickly earned a place on my favorites list.

I already loved the whole Shadowhunting world, but add witty and clever protagonists and steampunk villains, and what more could I want?

This book was quite funny.  A lot funnier than most of the MI.  Maybe because Tessa is really clever and doesn’t put up with flack from anyone, whereas in MI, all the wit comes from Simon and sometimes Jace.

I really liked the main characters and found them to be believable and lovable.  They’re really easy to like, although Henry is certainly high on my list because of his red hair.

I was happy to find that Tessa, the  main girl in the story, was so different from Clary (although she faces similar conflicts).  Although Will, who is an ancestor of Jace’s, seems so much like Jace at times, you wonder if snarkiness and self-destruction are inherited traits.  I don’t think it’s bad that they’re so alike, because it feels more like they’re supposed to be.  Because they’re two apples from the same crazy Herondale tree.

Meeting Cassandra Clare was awesome.  She was cool and funny and everything I hoped she’d be.  She had hot shoes and purple streaks in her hair that really made me think about dying mine, too.  I felt like a big dork, which I am wont to do when I meet people who are obviously so much cooler than me.  But Cassandra Clare was nice and cool about it.  So, thanks for that, Cassandra Clare.

Thanks for being cool to all the dorks out there who love you.

After that picture, I went home and started reading Clockwork Angel right away. I finished it the next day.

I have no self-control when it comes to books.

Thank goodness that her next book, City of Fallen Angels (MI #4), comes out in 207 days.

Five stars for being totally brill and living up to the hype.  Too bad Clockwork Prince (ID #2) doesn’t come out for another year.

  1. September 10, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    That’s awesome that you go to meet her! I would love to meet her! It’s definitely too bad that Clockwork Prince doesn’t come out until next year. I wish it came out sooner, but at least, I’ll have City of Fallen Angels to tied me over.

  2. September 10, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    PS – Did she mention a release date for CoFA? The only thing I’ve heard is that it’s March 2011. But, that seems like less than 207 days away.

    • Ashley
      September 10, 2010 at 7:34 pm

      April 5, 2011, according to her website. She’s got a countdown on there, that’s where I got 207 from. 😉

  3. September 10, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    Glad you enjoyed your book! I haven’t made a decision on this series but I see that the titles are lined up and already out up through number six. If I don’t read the series then I’ll be behind like I am on the Vampire Academy and that other Vampire series of which there are like 12 books none of which I’ve read. So, I guess I’ll take the plunge. Just not right now. I’m trying to finish off a mystery series. But lucky you to meet the author! And get your book personally signed! So cool! Or I believe it’s “sick” these days. Great picture!

  4. oma
    September 10, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    I guess I need to go buy this one after all. or can you bring it to Michigan, oh I forgot you dont loan out books , sorry
    I love the way you love reading and I think I am slowly getting there too
    oh yes one more thing that is a great picture

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

