Home > Meme > Friday’s Fab Five & Book Blogger Hop

Friday’s Fab Five & Book Blogger Hop

I’ve got two reviews I’m working on, but for now…

1. Do you have any hidden talents?
I read really, really fast.  That’s about it.

2. Name one thing not many people know about you.
Not many people know that I was named after my great-grandfather, whose middle name was Ashley.  He died when I was about four years old.

3. Do you have any phobias?
I used to have a big fear of failure.  I would hyperventilate and have a bit of a mental breakdown.  I had a real problem with perfectionism.  That’s mostly gone now, but I’m still really afraid of letting people down.

4. What’s your favorite cartoon?
I don’t know if I could pick a favorite cartoon movie, because I really like all of the Pixar classics– Toy Story, Monsters, Inc., The Incredibles, Cars, etc.  When I was a kid I really liked a weird Saturday morning cartoon called Reboot.  (Anyone else remember that show?)

I do watch a lot of cartoons these days, but they’re my daughter’s favorite– Mickey Mouse Clubhouse, Curious George and Clifford the Big Red Dog.

5. Do you have any nicknames?
Ashwey is obviously a nickname.  I got it from a boy that I knew in college.  That was in the days of AOL IM, and for some reason, we always chatted in baby talk.  A strange form of flirting, I guess.  Anyway, he started calling me Ashwey sort of as a joke.  But it stuck.

Some people call me Ash, and when they do, I actually really like it.  It makes me feel closer to people somehow.

Friday’s Fab Five is a weekly event hosted by Froggy at Froggarita’s Bookcase. She asks five questions, which could or could not be book related, so that bloggers and their readers can get to know each other better. Participating can be as simple as answering the questions in the comments for this post. Or, it can be as intense as answering the questions by commenting on her blog, commenting on my blog, and posting about the event on your own blog. The only rule is that you can’t use the same answer twice.

I’m hopping around on the Book Blogger Hop over at Crazy-For-Books.  The Hop is a way for book bloggers from all over to get to know each other and be introduced to bloggers they’ve never met (read) before!  Click the logo to find a (LONG) list of book bloggers you might like.

Book Blogger Hop

This week’s question is: Do you listen to music while you read?  If so, what are your favorite reading tunes?

I usually don’t listen to music while I read because I do most of my reading in bed between the hours of 10 p.m. and 2 a.m. with my husband asleep next to me.

But I like the idea of listening to music while I read.  I really like it when authors create playlists of music they think goes along with their books.  Stephenie Meyer has a playlist for each of her books and I’m slowly working on collecting all the songs for myself.  (She has good taste in music!)  Alyson Noël has done the same thing for the Immortals series.

When I’m working/reading on the computer, I am usually listening to stereomood.com.  It’s a web site that makes a playlist for you based on your activity or mood.  Check it out!

If you want some other good author playlists, check out Penguin’s “Plug Into Penguin” page.  (Say that five times fast!)

Categories: Meme
  1. August 6, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    Hi- Just following you on the Crazy book blog hop! You can find me at
    http://wwwburiedinbooks.blogspot.com “Dawn of the Dreadfuls” looks positively awful and wonderful. I can’t wait to read your review. I haven’t read any of the Jane Austen zombie books. But I’ve heard great things. I signed up for email. Is that the only way to follow you?

    Heather

  2. August 6, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    Ash is a cool nickname. That’s how I differentiate you and Corey’s cousin Ashley.

    I finally collected all of Stephenie’s playlist music. That is until the Bree Tanner book came out. It took me almost three years to get it all because not all of them are available on iTunes and I didn’t want to buy an album for one song.

  3. August 6, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    I love all the Pixar movies too, particularly Finding Nemo! 🙂 I have never heard of Reboot, but I am curious to look it up now. I am a big fan of book playlists too. Cassandra Clare’s are my favorites because they seem to fit the characters and the mood of her MI series so well.

  4. August 6, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    Hopping by to visit! I love looking at author playlists, but I’ve never actually listened to one while reading the book. it sounds marvelous, though. 🙂

    -Tiger

    http://tigersallconsumingbooks.blogspot.com

  5. August 6, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    hey stopping by from the hop!

    Stephenie does have good taste, I admit to picking some music just because I saw it on her website.

    -Christina
    http://books-are-life-reviews.blogspot.com/

  6. Tresa
    August 6, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    Your current read is a good read.

    Hopping in to wish you a Happy Friday ~
    ~Tresa @ Bippidy Boppidy Boo
    http://snewo.wordpress.com/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

