Home > 5 Stars, Adult, Book Review, Fantasy, Fiction, Romance > The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen

The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen

The Sugar Queen is the last book of Sarah Addison Allen’s that I read.  She’s only written three so far– Garden Spells, The Sugar Queen and The Girl Who Chased the Moon.

I liked The Girl Who Chased the Moon, so then I read Garden Spells. I REALLY liked Garden Spells.  And I LOVED The Sugar Queen.

Here’s the blurb:

Josey Cirinni is sure of three things: winter is her favorite season, she’s a sorry excuse for a Southern belle, and her passion for the man she loves is best kept a secret, even from him. Josey has grudgingly settled into an uneventful life in her mother’s house, but her one consolation is the secret stockpile of sugary treats and paperback romances she keeps in her closet. One morning, she opens her closet for a sweet, but finds Della Lee Baker hiding there instead. Della Lee is a local waitress on the run who is one part nemesis—and two parts fairy godmother. Under Della Lee’s guidance, Josey is soon living in a world where the color red has startling powers, and passion is so real it can make eggs fry in their cartons. And that’s just for starters.

I just don’t even know where to start with this book.  I loved it.  I loved the magical elements of this book.  Maybe I just related to Josey.  I don’t have a secret stash of goodies, but I wish I did.  And I wish I could make a sandwich like Chloe.

And I wish that books just showed up whenever I needed them.  That has got to be the coolest magic ever.  I really liked Claire’s ability to cook foods that could do certain things in Garden Spells.  But books that follow you around and give you advice?  So cool!

The main protagonist, Josey, is 27.  But she’s been shut up in her house playing dutiful daughter to her aging Southern belle mother.  So she kind of acts more like a teenager.  That may be another reason this book appeals to me– it’s got a little YA attitude hiding in it. 🙂

Just like her in her other two books, Sarah Addison Allen builds a believable small town in North Carolina.  In this book, it’s called Bald Slope.  Now Bald Slope doesn’t really exist, but you wouldn’t know it by reading this book.  I actually looked it up on Wikipedia after I was finished reading.

Nope.  Not a real place.  But I believed that it was.

Sarah Addison Allen is such a talented writer.  She’s my best find this year, and you’ve haven’t read her– you’re missing out on some delightful storytelling.

Five stars because I can’t say enough good about this book.  I loved it, and I’ve added it to my favorites list.

  1. August 1, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    definitely adding this one to my “to read” list!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

