Home > Meme > Friday’s Fab Five & Book Blogger Hop

Friday’s Fab Five & Book Blogger Hop

My review for Ink Exchange & Fragile Eternity will be coming tomorrow, but for now…

  1. What book is in your purse/car?
    The only books in my car are my two-year-old daughter’s, so they’re all made of cardboard and have pictures of Elmo or Buzz Lightyear in them.

  2. What book is in your bathroom?
    NO BOOKS IN THE BATHROOM!  Didn’t you see that episode of Seinfeld?  Uh uh, no way.  No books in the bathroom.  I don’t read in there anyway.  I don’t hang out in there that much.

  3. What book is nearest to your favorite chair?
    I don’t have a favorite chair, but the chair I’m in the most is the desk chair.  I’m in it right now, in fact.  And nearest me are my address book, and about a dozen of my husband’s scary scientific textbooks.  They’re ominous, heavy and expensive.  The Chanel No. 5 of textbooks.

  4. What book is nearest to your couch?
    Heist Society by Ally Carter.  That’s what I’m working on right now.  I’m somewhere around chapter six, I think.

  5. What book is nearest to your bed?
    Uglies by Scott Westerfeld.  It’s our book club book for this month, and I was going to re-read it.  I just haven’t been able to bring myself to do it yet.  I’ll probably get to it next though, because book club is on Thursday…

Friday’s Fab Five is a weekly event hosted by Froggy at Froggarita’s Bookcase. She asks five questions, which could or could not be book related, so that bloggers and their readers can get to know each other better. Participating can be as simple as answering the questions in the comments for this post. Or, it can be as intense as answering the questions by commenting on her blog, commenting on my blog, and posting about the event on your own blog. The only rule is that you can’t use the same answer twice.

I’ve also jumped in on the Book Blogger Hop over at Crazy-For-Books.  The Hop is a way for book bloggers from all over to get to know each other and be introduced to bloggers they’ve never met (read) before!

Book Blogger Hop

This week’s question is: Who is your favorite new-to-you author so far this year?

My answer is, hands down, Sarah Addison Allen.  I love her!  I stumbled upon her so randomly this year, and quickly read all three of her novels.  And I really liked them all!  I can’t really call what she writes “urban fantasy” because all of her books take place in rural/suburban North Carolina, but she has just slight elements of fantasy in very real situations.  And somehow… I just believe it.  I believe that apples can show you the most significant event in your life, that books can show up right when you need them and that wallpaper in a teenage girl’s bedroom can spontaneously change.  Why not?

I just finished The Sugar Queen, and will definitely be writing a review about it later this week.

Until then, happy reading!

Categories: Meme
  1. July 30, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    Elmo and Buzz 😀 I have a 6 year old that would love to bookswap his elmo with you. Just dropped by in the Blog Hop.

  2. July 30, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    Never heard of this author, but you have me wanting to read! Found you on the hop! Have a great weekend!

  3. oma
    July 31, 2010 at 7:26 am

    No books in bathroom , but my car has one incase I have to wait “nora Roberts”
    and some of the Books I enjoyed lately where , The bend in the road, The last song,and I like reading love stories anyway, or Sue Crafton Privat eye stories

  4. July 31, 2010 at 10:59 am

    Just stopping by for the hop!!!! Hope you are having a good weekend!!

    Feel free to come over and visit me Here

    Happy Reading!

  5. July 31, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    Do you like to take baths? If so, you should totally try reading in the tub! It’s the best thing EVER.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

