Home > Meme > Friday’s Fab Five

Friday’s Fab Five

An update on what I’m reading is coming tomorrow, so for today…


1. What new author have you discovered this year that is now on your auto buy list?
Well, this year I’ve found Kristin Cashore, Sarah Addison Allen, Jessica Day George and Sarah MacLean.  Sarah MacLean has written only one book (The Season) so far, but I LOVE LOVE LOVED it, so I’ll definitely be keeping an eye out for anything else from her.

2. What author you have yet to read although you have most of their books in your TBR (to be read)?
Elizabeth Aston.  She writes books based on characters (or descendants of characters) from Pride & Prejudice.  I just haven’t it made it there yet, and there are so many that I don’t know where to begin or if they should be read in a certain order or anything.

3. What book do you regret giving/loaning to a friend that you never got back or got back in a bad condition?
Recently, my copy of Pretties got pretty water-logged when I lent it to a friend of mine, but she was gracious and offered to buy me a new copy.  Other than that, I think I’ve only had a book come back damaged once, and it was only slight.  I don’t really care too much because ultimately, books are just things and my friends are way more important to me than my stuff is.

4. A favorite author that you read no matter what genre she/he writes?
Bill Bryson.  He’s hilarious no matter what the subject.  He has written travel books, a memoir, history books, even a really long science book that took me three years to finish (but it was hilarious all along the way).  I can’t wait for his new book to come out in September. If you haven’t read Bill Bryson, you’re missing out!

5. A favorite book you go back to time and again and won’t get rid of?
Pride and Prejudice, of course.  Also, probably the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling, and the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare.  But Pride & Prejudice is my favorite of all-time.  I practically have it memorized.


Friday’s Fab Five is a weekly event hosted by Froggy at Froggarita’s Bookcase. She asks five questions, which could or could not be book related, so that bloggers and their readers can get to know each other better. Participating can be as simple as answering the questions in the comments for this post. Or, it can be as intense as answering the questions by commenting on her blog, commenting on my blog, and posting about the event on your own blog. The only rule is that you can’t use the same answer twice.
Categories: Meme
  1. July 23, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    You make sound like an evil person with your “ultimately, books are just things and my friends are way more important to me than my stuff is” jibberish. 😉 Good for you! I hope to be that nice some day.

  2. July 23, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    I thought about watching P&P the other day and got sad because Ashwey wasn’t here to watch it with me— and then I woke up from my dream and realized I don’t have that kind of a time block 🙂

    • Ashley
      July 24, 2010 at 9:25 am

      I don’t either unless it’s the hours of 10 p.m. to 3 a.m. :-/

  3. July 23, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    oooo— pause for Colin Firth— now I have to go hunt Elizabeth Aston

  4. July 23, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    Hi! *waves* 🙂 I saw your Fab Five link in Jenni Elyse’s comments and noticed that we seem to have really similar taste in books. I haven’t read Sarah MacLean’s The Season yet, but now I am even more excited to check it out. The cover has tempted me at the bookstore a few times, but somehow it hasn’t made it home with me yet.

    • Ashley
      July 24, 2010 at 9:24 am

      Thanks for coming over, Violet. I’m adding you to my blogroll!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

