Home > 4.5 Stars, Adult, Book Review, Fantasy, Fiction, Nonsense, Romance > Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen

Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen

I stumbled upon Sarah Addison Allen while perusing the bestseller shelf at my library.  I read her newest book, The Girl Who Chased the Moon, and I really, really liked it.  Garden Spells is her first book; it was published in 2007.

Here’s the blurb from her site:

Welcome to Bascom, North Carolina, where everyone has a story to tell about the Waverleys. There’s the house that’s been in the family for generations, the walled garden that mysteriously blooms year round, and the wild rumors of dangerous loves and tragic passions. Claire has always clung to the Waverleys’ roots, tending the enchanted soil in the family garden from which she makes her sought-after delicacies. She has everything she thinks she needs, until one day she wakes to find a stranger has moved in next door and a vine of ivy has crept into her garden… and Claire’s carefully tended life is about to run gloriously out of control.

I wouldn’t necessarily count this as a “fantasy book,” but there are a lot of fantasy or supernatural elements.  However, there are no witches or princesses or castles, so I hesitate to put it in the fantasy category.  But I wouldn’t know what category it SHOULD go in, so I’ve tagged it as fantasy anyway.

Apparently, I’m feeling a little contradictory today.

Anyway, I really liked this book because of the beautiful setting and the small supernatural details that seemed pretty believable at times.  I could easily picture the town of Bascom, and wished I could move there.

I’d especially love to have a neighbor like Evanelle, Claire’s distant cousin whose “gift” tells her to give people things, though she doesn’t know why they need them.  She gives Claire clean sheets and a box of Pop-Tarts, the grocer a mango splitter, and the dairy farmer a jar of maraschino cherries, and it goes on and on.

Know what else I love about this book?  The ending.  I don’t want to spoil it, so I’ll just leave it at that. 😉

Four and a half stars, because it’s not a favorite (yet), but it’s close!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. August 2, 2010 at 9:38 am

Leave a Reply

