Home > 4.5 Stars, Book Review, Fantasy, Fiction, Young Adult > Princess of the Midnight Ball by Jessica Day George

Princess of the Midnight Ball by Jessica Day George

I just finished this book and I loved it!  The Twelve Dancing Princesses was one of my favorite stories as a child and I would always beg my grandmother to read it to me any time I was at her house (it was her book, not mine).

Anyway, so when I saw the cover of this book and read the flap, I hoped I wouldn’t be disappointed.  And I totally wasn’t.

Here’s the summary from Jessica Day George’s website:

Returning home from the war, young Galen finds work with his mother’s family in the royal gardens. There he learns that the king’s twelve daughters have a secret: every night they dance their shoes to tatters, but no one knows how or why. When prince after prince tries and fails to find the answer, and the family is haunted by accusations of witchcraft, Galen decides to help. Armed with a pair of silver knitting needles and an invisibility cloak given to him by a strange old woman, he follows the princesses and unlocks the secret of their curse.

It takes places in a fictional version of 19th century Germany, and has a lot of German elements in it.  (Shout out to Germany!)  This book has lovely bits of fantasy, realistic familial interactions,  and romance (of course).  Not to mention a hero who can knit!

(I love the idea of a man knitting.   I would love it even more if I could witness it for myself!)

Anyway, this book is great.  And when I finished, I got to the author’s bio at the end of the book and found out that Jessica Day George went to BYU, my alma mater! I love BYU and love anyone who went there.  I already thought Jessica Day George was great, so that was a little icing on the cake.

I recommend it for: fans of fairy tales, anyone who wishes they were a princess, anyone who wants something heart-warming and happy to read.

Overall, I give it 4.5 stars.  I reserve 5-star ratings for books that are on my favorites shelf.  But I liked this book a lot.

Until next time,

  1. July 15, 2010 at 1:01 pm

    this book, and “evermore” are on hold for me at the library… can’t wait to read them both!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

